Long Live the Queen

Time was when no bookshelf was complete without a collection of dog-eared paperbacks by mystery writer extraordinaire Agatha Christie. Learn why your parents — and their parents — were so besotted with the “Queen of Crime” at the South Florida stage debut of Agatha Christie’s The BBC Murders. The two-act show presents four rediscovered radio plays originally written by the legendary author for the BBC Mystery Series. The show includes Three Blind Mice (the inspiration for the long-running play Mousetrap), Yellow Iris, Butter in a Lordly Dish, and Personal Call. Agatha Christie’s The BBC Murders runs through February 3. Performances are at 8 p.m. Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday and at 2 p.m. Wednesday, Saturday, and Sunday. There will be a special 7:30 p.m. performance this Sunday, January 20. All shows are in the Parker Playhouse, located at 707 NE Eighth St. in Fort Lauderdale. Tickets cost $26.50 to $66.50. Call 954-462-0222, or visit parkerplayhouse.com.
Tue., Jan. 15, 8 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 16, 8 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 17, 8 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 18, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 19, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 20, 2, 7:30 & 8 p.m.; Mon., Jan. 21, 8 p.m.; Tue., Jan. 22, 8 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 23, 2 & 8 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 24, 8 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 25, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 26, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 27, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Mon., Jan. 28, 8 p.m.; Tue., Jan. 29, 8 p.m.; Wed., Jan. 30, 2 & 8 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 31, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 1, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 2, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 3, 2 p.m., 2013
KEEP NEW TIMES BROWARD-PALM BEACH FREE... Since we started New Times Broward-Palm Beach, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of South Florida, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Tricia Woolfenden