Wicked or Misunderstood? | Night & Day | South Florida | Broward Palm Beach New Times | The Leading Independent News Source in Broward-Palm Beach, Florida

Wicked or Misunderstood?

Many of us have fond memories of the movie The Wizard of Oz. Dorothy, Toto, and Glinda (the Good Witch) brought smiles to our faces. Other characters sent chills down our spines. Remember the flying monkeys? Yikes. And the Wicked Witch of the West? We rejoiced when Dorothy poured water on her and she melted into nothing. Well, what if you found out that long before Dorothy dropped into the Land of Oz, this evil witch with emerald-green skin was just a young, misunderstood girl living in the shadows of the beautiful and popular Glinda? Learn more about the witches' untold story when you see Wicked at the Broward Center for the Performing Arts' Au-Rene Theatre, located at 201 SW Fifth Ave. in Fort Lauderdale. Wicked, winner of 35 major awards, including a Grammy and three Tony Awards, runs from now till February 17. There will be a 2 p.m. matinee Thursdays. Other showtimes are 8 p.m. Tuesdays through Saturdays, 2 p.m. Saturdays and Sundays, and 7:30 p.m. Sundays. Tickets cost $34.50 to $154.50, with Club Level seats available for $139.50. Purchase tickets at the Au-Rene Theater Box Office, by phone at 954-462-0222, or online at browardcenter.org.
Wed., Jan. 30, 8 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 31, 2 & 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 1, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 2, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 3, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Tue., Feb. 5, 8 p.m.; Wed., Feb. 6, 8 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 7, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 8, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 9, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 10, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Tue., Feb. 12, 8 p.m.; Wed., Feb. 13, 8 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 14, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 15, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 16, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 17, 2 & 7:30 p.m., 2013
KEEP NEW TIMES BROWARD-PALM BEACH FREE... Since we started New Times Broward-Palm Beach, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of South Florida, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Chrissie Ferguson

Latest Stories