Music News

Sophie Sputnik's The Chase Streaming

Deerfield Beach singer-songwriter Sophie Sputnik is officially a recording artist now. Her raw and emotional October 1 live recording at Radio-Active Records' old location, titled The Chase, is now out on limited edition cassette.

County Grind attended that show, and noted that "her confidence in her material became the room's pleasure, enthusiasm, and tears, when appropriate." Recorded by Richard Vergez, the 41-minute concert efficiently runs through ten songs in intimate fashion. Sure, you can't see Sputnik and Melanie Adak lacing their harmonies and John Paul Garcia keeping time on a tiny drum kit behind them, but there's no doubt that this was a successful outing for all involved. The entire thing is up on Soundcloud now, so you can find out for yourself.

With no breaks or interruptions, here's The Chase.

The Chase by Sophie Sputnik by Radio-Active Records

Here's video of the final song of the night, "Fox Chasin'":

Track list:

1. hotter than hell

2. hello

3. the sick song

4. run

5. dandelions

6. the mom song

7. wolf song

8. insecurity song

9. patrick schwasted

10. fox chasin

Pick up a copy at Radio-Active Records. 845 N. Federal Highway, Fort Lauderdale. Call 954.762.9488 or click here.

Follow County Grind on Facebook and Twitter: @CountyGrind.

KEEP NEW TIMES BROWARD-PALM BEACH FREE... Since we started New Times Broward-Palm Beach, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of South Florida, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Reed Fischer
Contact: Reed Fischer