Surfer Blood's Thomas Fekete Records Lo-Fi Album Battling Cancer at Home

Keep New Times Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of South Florida and help keep the future of New Times free.

Whether in sickness or in health, Thomas Fekete creates music that makes us want to listen. This past April, the guitarist of West Palm Beach rockers Surfer Blood was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer. Though the disease and its treatment have kept Fekete from touring with his band, it has not stopped him from writing and recording.

This past Spring, while fighting the cancer, Fekete managed to record 11 songs on a 4-track from his South Florida bedroom. The album, titled Burner, was released earlier this week on his label Joyful Noise, with copies available digitally ($7) and on vinyl ($20). A limited number of cassette copies have already sold out. All proceeds will contribute to Fekete's ongoing medical expenses, and the guitarist is still accepting donations via a GoFundMe page.

If "Treason,"  the track Fekete released as a teaser to the streaming masses, is any indication of the rest of Burner, then we should expect some beautiful, fuzzy distortion bliss. 

Here is Fekete's rather harrowing statement on Burner, which explores his experiences since his diagnosis:

Sometime between March and June of 2015 while healing from two surgeries and starting chemotherapy, I hunched over my four track and created this disaster. No multiple takes, no expensive mics, no outside direction...just me in my bedroom with a very cheap, bare bones setup.

Some of these songs reflect on good times, days I'm able to walk on my own, talk, and function like a somewhat normal human being. Others remind me of barfing between vocal takes, wheel chairs, dilaudid withdrawals, and tears, from my family, my spouse, my dear friends. However, like everything in my life, I did manage to find some humor in my situation, and I hope that helps level out all the heavy stuff.

Love you, be happy pls

Burner track-listing :

1. Loser Uncle
2. Ocean
3. Weather Press
4. Roll On River (Andy Boay)
5. Banklet
6. Knife Bank
7. Treason
8. Problems
9. Gold
10. Melk Mustache
11. Pick Up The Things That You Need 

Keep New Times Broward-Palm Beach Free... Since we started New Times Broward-Palm Beach, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of South Florida, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering South Florida with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in South Florida.


Join the New Times community and help support independent local journalism in South Florida.