Here Are the Florida Members of Congress Who Voted Against the Shutdown Deal | The Daily Pulp | South Florida | Broward Palm Beach New Times | The Leading Independent News Source in Broward-Palm Beach, Florida


Here Are the Florida Members of Congress Who Voted Against the Shutdown Deal

Damn, that was close.

Sixteen days of government shutdown. An endless sound-bite tug of war. Negotiations that had less intellectual substance than a debate over who could bench more, the Hulk or the Thing.

It's all over.

Late last night, at the 23rd hour, Congress finally hammered together a deal to jump-start the government and reset the debt limit, a move that avoids government default and puts half a million furloughed government employees back to work.

Today, get ready for a lot of warm, fuzzy post-ops on moving forward from the whole kerfuffle. But, lest we forget too quickly, let us point out that a good handful of congressional Republicans didn't have the stones to take off their Tea Party hats and do what was right for the American people yesterday.

And you, annoyed taxpayer, will be happy to know a good slice of those naysayers on yesterday's deal were from right here in the Sunshine State.

In the House, the bill squeaked through with a 285 to 144 vote. In the Senate, it was 81 to 18.

No Florida Democrat from either end of the building voted against the deal. But for all of you keeping tabs at home, below are the Florida Republicans from the House who decided, naw, fuck it, let's drive this whole thing into default and surefire economic catastrophe.

No doubt, this morning, those no votes are trying to front like this was a big win, rubbing their Koch Brothers-issued Illuminati decoder rings together in the FoxNews green room. We've included links to their websites, in case you wanted to drop a line about how much you appreciate the job performance.

Rep. Ron DeSantis

Rep. John Mica

Rep. Jeff Miller

Rep. Richard Nugent

Rep. Bill Posey

Rep. Trey Radel

Rep. Tom Rooney

Rep. Dennis Ross

Rep. Steve Southerland

Rep. Ted Yoho

For some reason, Rep. CW Bill Young didn't vote on the bill. Must of had something better going on.

Ah, and of course, over in the Senate, this guy was among the 18 to vote against the shutdown legislation:

KEEP NEW TIMES BROWARD-PALM BEACH FREE... Since we started New Times Broward-Palm Beach, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of South Florida, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Kyle Swenson
Contact: Kyle Swenson

Latest Stories