See authors Barbara Shapiro (left) and Daniel DeVisé (right) at the 2016 Literary Feast.
See authors Barbara Shapiro (left) and Daniel DeVisé (right) at the 2016 Literary Feast.
Left photo by Lynn Wayne. Right photo by John M.W. King.

Literary Feast 2016 Brings 17 Acclaimed Authors to Fort Lauderdale

Since 1988, Fort Lauderdale's annual gathering of famous authors and bibliophiles alike has raised more than $3 million to support Broward County Library’s literary programs and services. This year, the 28th Literary Feast will host nearly 20 nationally acclaimed authors in a series of literary events over three days. 

The festivities begin Friday, March 4, when the feast authors spread out to visit Broward public high schools to discuss their careers with thousands of students, with writing specialties ranging from biography and literary fiction to business and food writing. During these visits, the winners of the annual Novel Day for Students Short Story Contest will be announced. More than 300 students participate every year, creating fierce competition.

Guests are in for an elegant affair at the recently remodeled Broward County Main Library on Saturday, March 5, where there will be a gala cocktail party on the sixth floor that will be accompanied by an open bar, hors d’oeuvres, book sales, signings from featured authors, and a silent auction.

In addition to the eats and drinks served all night, Literary Feast 2016 maintains its tradition of featuring famed authors and journalists in their respective specialties to help raise awareness of Broward Public Library Foundation’s mission. Whereas the kickoff luncheon event on February 5 hosted Meg Cabot, the brains behind the Princess Diaries and The Mediator Series, the main spectacle will host 17 acclaimed authors and writers rubbing elbows with guests at 13 intimate dinners held in restaurants and private homes throughout Fort Lauderdale.

Notable names include Alafair Burke, daughter of famed mystery novelist James Lee Burke; Liz Cunningham, David Denby, Daniel DeVisé, Rebecca Dinerstein, Jason Mott, Helen Ellis, Elaine Viets, Deborah Harkness, George Hodman, Michael Springer, Kate Clifford Larson, Michael Koryta, journalist Peter Slevin, Michael Reidel, beverage writer Steve Reddicliffe, and B.A. Shapiro.

As of Monday, February 29, both the Alafair Burke and Koryta/Slevin dinners are sold out. Seats are still available for B.A. Shapiro, Michael Riedel, Daniel DeVisé, Kate Clifford Larson, and David Denby.

Join Broward’s literary community on Saturday, March 5, for the Literary Feast 2016, beginning at 6 p.m. The gala cocktail party will be held at the Broward County Main Library (100 S. Andrews Ave., Fort Lauderdale). Guests depart for literary dinners at 7:30 p.m. Locations vary by author. Tickets start at $175. An additional donation of $150 will guarantee your first or second choice of literary dinners. Orders can be made by calling 954-357-7382 or visiting bplfoundation.org. Downloadable invitations are also available online.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >