Recommended For You

Daddy G

Long considered the secret, sultry weapon of the Massive Attack collective, Daddy G had been something of a recluse in recent years. Fatherhood kept him from appearing on the band's disappointing 2003 effort 100th Window, which might explain its mediocrity. But after returning to the fold in '04, G began his second act not as his usual gravelly baritone self, but as a self-assured, well-informed DJ.

The DJ Kicks series has wallowed in mediocrity lately, copping inexperienced acts to lay out its musical seminars. Thankfully, !K7 has come to its senses and passed the decks to a veteran. The outcome is a solid pastiche of dub, dancehall, hip-hop, and electric fusion. Whether segueing the hazy reggae rhythms of Barrington Levy into Foxy Brown's "Oh Yeah" or giving a shout out to sorely missed dance duo Leftfield on "Inspection (Check One)," G never shies from being both diverse and personal on this set. Of course, his Wild Bunch cohorts get dropped plenty, i.e., Tricky's "Aftermath," Oakenfold's improved revision of "Unfinished Sympathy," and Attack's recently overlooked collaboration with Mos Def on the ominous breakbeat joint "I Against I." It's a welcome re-emergence for this Bristol hero.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >